

Annual Meeting Monday, March 13, 2017 Highland United Methodist Church, Raleigh, NC

Welcome and Call to Order

The first annual meeting of the ERA-NC Alliance was called to order at 2:04 PM at the Highland United Methodist Church, Raleigh, NC. Marena Groll, Co-President of ERA-NC Alliance presided and welcomed everyone.

Adoption of Rules

Motion 1 Passed

Motion 2

Virginia Adamson, serving as Parliamentarian, moved and it was duly seconded to adopt Robert's Rules of Order as the rules for the Annual Meeting.

Credentials Report

Membership Chair Virginia Adamson presented the Credentials Report. Voting members 12, guests 9, total 21. Membership Chair Virginia Adamson moved and it was duly seconded to accept the Credentials **Passed** Report as presented.

Adoption of Bylaws

Denny McGuire moved and it was duly seconded to adopt the Bylaws as presented.

Motion 3 Passed

Election of Officers

Nominations Chair Audrey Muck reported the following people are nominated as officers.

Co-Presidents Marena Groll & Roberta Madden 1st Vice President – Fundraising Varnell Kinnin 2nd Vice President – Communications **Audrey Muck** 3rd Vice President – Membership Virginia Adamson Diana Grav Secretary Treasurer Patricia Sledge

Denny McGuire stepped in as Chair. The floor was opened for

Motion 4 Passed

nominations. The nomination of Amanda Krause for 2nd Vice President -Communications was made by Angela Stone. No other nominations were made and the Chair declared nominations closed. Roberta Waddle moved and it was duly seconded to elect all officers except 2nd Vice President by unanimous vote. The nomination of Amanda Krause was withdrawn. Joyce Mitchell moved and it was duly seconded to elect Audrey Muck as

Motion 5 Passed

2nd Vice President – Communications by unanimous vote.

Election of Directors

Marena Groll resumed the Chair. Nominations Chair Audrey Muck reported the following people are nominated as directors

Ann Von Brock

Julia Buckner

Lori Bunton

Gloria De Los Santos

Judy Lotas

Sherry MacQueen

J. Denny McGuire

Joyce Mitchell

Antoinette (Toni) Morris

Judith Scruggs

Angela M. Stone

The floor was opened for nominations. The following people were nominated: Khaetlyn Grindell, Barbara Ann Hughes, Madison Kimrey, and Amanda Krause. No other nominations were made and the Chair declared nominations closed. The candidates introduced themselves or were introduced. The following members were elected by ballot as Board of Directors:

- 1. Ann Von Brock
- 2. Julia Buckner
- 3. Lori Bunton
- 4. Gloria De Los Santos
- 5. Judy Lotas
- 6. Sherry MacQueen
- 7. J. Denny McGuire
- 8. Iovce Mitchell
- 9. Antoinette (Toni) Morris
- 10. Judith Scruggs
- 11. Angela M. Stone
- 12. Khaetlyn Grindell
- 13. Madison Kimrey
- 14. Amanda Krause

Awards

The ERA-NC Alliance Champion Award 2015-2017 was presented to NC Senator Floyd B. McKissick, Jr. and NC Representative Carla Cunningham. The inaugural recipients of the ERA-NC Alliance Susan B. Anthony Award 2016-2017 were Virginia Adamson, Jana Albritton, Gloria De Los Santos, Diana Gray, Judy Lotas, Jennifer Miller, Audrey Muck and Patricia Sledge. Marena Groll presented a framed official program of the Women's Suffrage Procession March 3, 1913 from the Sewall-Belmont House to honor Co-President Roberta Madden.

	-
Keynote Speaker	Terry Schooley, a former Delaware House Representative and a former State Preside of NC NOW, was the keynote speaker.
Selection of Board Terms Motion 6 Passed	Seven (7) names of Board of Directors were drawn at random to serve as Directors from March 2017-December 2018. 1. J. Denny McGuire 2. Ann Von Brock 3. Sherry MacQueen 4. Judith Scruggs 5. Khaetlyn Grindell 6. Julia Buckner 7. Judy Lotas Joyce Mitchell moved and it was duly seconded to switch Joyce Mitchell to the March2017-December 2018 term and Julia Buckner to the March 2017-December 2019 term.
Gift to Terry Schooley	Judy Lotas presented a thank you gift to Terry Schooley for lighting the way.
Announcements	 Reception for Women's Advocacy Day is tonight at 5:30 PM at 18 Cantina at 433 Daniel Street, Raleigh. Women's Advocacy Day on Tuesday morning early at the Legislative Building.
Dues Adoption <u>Motion 7</u> <u>Passed</u>	Lori Bunton moved and it was duly seconded to suspend the bylaws to allow the Board of Directors to adopt the annual dues schedule.
Adjournment	The meeting was adjourned at 4:15 PM.
Virginia Adamson Acting Secretary Marena Groll	
Co-President	