

Annual Meeting Saturday, November 19, 2022 Hybrid Meeting (In-Person @ Bennett College, Greensboro & Zoom)

Welcome & Call to Order – Lori Bunton/Jimmie Cochran Pratt, Co-Presidents: Lori called the meeting to order at 11:30 a.m. and welcomed all to the meeting. Lori introduced Jimmie, who presented her welcome statement recognizing the incredible ERA-NC Alliance Board Members. In addition, Jimmie introduced the Meeting Sponsors and Lead Organizations (see Meeting Dropbox for list) and thanked them for their support.

Land Acknowledgment: Honorable Pat Sledge, ERA-NC Alliance Board Member. See Meeting Dropbox for transcript.

Recognition of Dignitaries: Jimmie Cochran Pratt recognized the following dignitaries attending in person or on Zoom: Representative John Ager, Senator Mike Woodard, Senator Gladys Robinson, Representative Caleb Rudow, Alderman Pat Sledge, Senator Natasha Marcus, and Senator Natalie Murdock.

Co-Presidents' Address – Lori Bunton/Jimmie Cochran Pratt: See Meeting Dropbox for transcript.

Introduction of Keynote Speaker Kate Kelly, Esquire, Author of *Ordinary Equality***:** Marla Barthen, ERA-NC Alliance VP Fundraising, introduced Kate Kelly; link for presentation: https://youtu.be/x7ILgvrYXPw

ERA National Overview: Zakiya Thomas, President & CEO of ERA Coalition & Fund for Women's Equality; click on following links for presentation:

1:03:12 - Introduction of ERA Coalition President & CEO, Zakiya Thomas

 $\underline{1:04:21}$ - Recorded address by Zakiya Thomas

Winston & Strawn Statutes Overview – Danielle Williams, Esquire: Lori introduced Danielle; click on following links for each presentation:

1:07:48 - Introduction of Danielle Williams, Managing Partner, Winston and Strawn

 $\underline{1:09:30}$ - Update on NC statutes and regulations project by Danielle Williams

Alice Paul Award: Lori Bunton announced that Winston & Strawn, in recognition of superior contributions to the vision of equal rights for women, has been presented the 2022 Alice Paul Award. This international law firm has dedicated countless hours to racial justice and equality issues, including reviewing all the NC statutes and regulations. They have provided the ERA-NC Alliance with a valuable tool to use in the next NCGA legislative session. See details of presentation in Meeting Dropbox.

Page 2 of 3 November 19, 2022



Susan B. Anthony Award: Jimmie Cochran Pratt announced that NC State Senator Natalie Murdock and NC State Representative Julie von Haefen have received the Susan B. Anthony Award in recognition for their outstanding service as our chief bill sponsors in the NCGA. See details of presentation in Meeting Dropbox.

2023 ERA-NC Alliance Vision: Jimmie; see Meeting Dropbox for presentation.

Close of Membership Meeting: Lori Bunton closed the meeting at 1:00 p.m.

Business Meeting: Jimmie Cochran Pratt, Chair, called the meeting to order at 1:20 p.m.

Credentials Report: Denny McGuire, VP Membership, presented the report:

Lead Organizations – 8 Members – 27 Total – 35

Denny McGuire moved, and it was duly seconded to accept the Credentials Report: motion carried. The Chair, Jimmie Cochran Pratt, declared a quorum for the transaction of business.

Adoption of 2021 Annual Meeting Agenda: Linda Stover, Secretary, moved and it was duly seconded to adopt the Meeting Agenda as presented; motion carried. 2021 Meeting Minutes in Meeting Dropbox.

Adoption of the 2020 Annual Business Meeting Minutes: Linda Stover, Secretary, moved and it was duly seconded that the 2021 Annual Meeting Minutes be approved as submitted; motion carried.

Committee Reports (see reports in Meeting Dropbox):

Treasurer: Audrey Muck, Treasurer

Fundraising: Marla Barthen, VP Fundraising

Public Relations: Teri Walley, VP Public Relations **Membership:** Denny McGuire, VP Membership

Legislative: Jimmie Cochran Pratt, Co-Chair in absence of

Jean Sivoli, VP Legislation

Statewide Outreach Report (C3): Ann Von Brock, Board Member

Page 2 of 3 November 19, 2022



Special Vote for Third Term: Ann Von Brock moved that we extend a third term to the following officers: Jimmie Cochran Pratt and Teri Walley; motion seconded by Marla Barthen; motion carried.

Election of Officers: Ann Von Brock, Chair of Nominations Committee, noted for the 2023-24 Officer term there are seven positions open. The following have been nominated:

Jimmie Cochran Pratt, Co-Chair
Teri Walley, Co-Chair
Marla Barthen, Vice President, Fundraising
Judy Lotas, Vice President, Public Relations
Leila Tvedt, Vice President, Membership & Finance
Jean Sivoli, Vice President, Legislation
Jan Lowe, Secretary

Jimmie Cochran Pratt opened the nominations to the floor for additional nominations; none were presented. As provided for in Robert's Rules of Order, election of nominees in uncontested offices does not require a vote by ballot; audible vote was held, and Cochran Pratt announced that the slate was approved as presented.

Election of Directors: Ann Von Brock, Chair of Nominations Committed noted for the 2023-24 Director term there are 3 positions open. The following have been nominated: NC Representative John Ager Stefanie Mendell Alderman Patricia Sledge

Jimmie Cochran Pratt opened the nominations to the floor for additional nominations; none were presented. As provided for in Robert's Rules of Order, election of nominees in uncontested offices does not require a vote by ballot; audible vote was held, and Cochran Pratt announced that the slate was approved as presented.

Business Meeting Adjournment: Chair Jimmie Cochran Pratt adjourned at 1:56 p.m.

inda Stover, Secretary
Lori Bunton, Co-President
immie Cochran Pratt. Co-President

Page 2 of 3 November 19, 2022